Commercial Yacht Certification

Charter Vessel Coding

Every boat Owner operating or intending to operate a yacht for commercial use or charter (crewed or bareboat), will need to have the vessel surveyed, prepared, equipped and certified for commercial or charter purposes in conformity with international regulations and more particularly with its flag state regulations and Classification of the yacht. This is called “Coding”.

Just alike for boat registration and based on our experience and your particular geographical charter use of the vessel, Allied Yachting Agents will advise you on the appropriate registration/coding to choose and organize the whole process on your behalf.

If you are planning to register and code for charter purposes your preowned or new yacht, we will pay attention to costs, but also properly advise you on advantages and disadvantages every flag, Classification and commercial coding of the yacht.

We will also ensure that your vessel is always maintained in a safe and legal status. Our professional partners continually monitor the forever changing international marine regulations.

We can assist you to register and code your vessel in the following registries:

  • United Kingdom
  • France
  • Spain
  • Italy
  • Portugal
  • Greece
  • Malta
  • Holland
  • Poland
  • Latvia
  • Luxemburg
  • Croatia
  • Turkey
  • United States of America
  • Cook Islands
  • Marshall Islands
  • Panama

The Classification societies we work with (but not limited to) are:

  • Lloyd’s Register (LR)
  • Det Norske Veritas (DNV)
  • Bureau Veritas (BV)
  • Registro Italiano Navale (RINA)
  • American Bureau of Shipping (ABS)
  • MCA Small Commercial Vessel Code (SCV Code for vessels < 24m in load-line length) through the IIMS or YDSA
  • The MCA Large Commercial Yacht Code (LY2, now LY3 for vessels > 24m load-line length), which is applied by the Red Ensign Group Flags (UK, Isle of Man, Jersey, Guernsey, Cayman Islands, Bermuda, Gibraltar, British Virgin Islands, etc.) and is also recognised as a reference standard for all the yachting industry
  • Other flags have developed similar codes:
    • Luxembourg
    • Italy
    • Marshall Islands
    • Malta
    • France (NUC for < 24m and RIF for > 24m)